Winners...Last year's Timaru winners Murray and Di Cleverly, left, with this year's winners from Alzheimers South Canterbury Barbara Ensor, Karen Foster, Diane Nutsford and Adrian Hall with Timaru's Deputy Mayor Richard Lyon. PHOTO: SUPPLIED


Alzheimers South Canterbury won the Trustpower 2018 Timaru Supreme Community Volunteers’ Award at the Ashburton Trust Events Centre last week.

Trustpower community and communications adviser Ashleigh Cleaver said Alzheimers South Canterbury was a deserving winner because of its outstanding fundraising efforts that had benefited the wider community.

Traditionally known for providing a range of social work, support and education to the people and families in its region who were affected by dementia, the group worked with the community to raise $600,000 to establish the Park Centre facility.

“It truly was a community effort – utilising their skills and energy and other community groups to work towards a joint goal that will benefit everyone,” Ms Cleaver said.

Alzheimers South Canterbury chairwoman Karen Foster said the group was delighted to receive the award.

The $600,000 was used to revamp the former Park Bowling Club building in the Timaru Botanic Gardens to establish the Park Centre and provide opportunities for not-for-profit groups to work together.

“The social impact of our visions was to significantly reduce social isolation and the stigma surrounding disabilities and health challenges,” Mrs Foster said.

The effort involved in getting the Park Centre established included 1000 donated trade hours and 10,000 hours of work by volunteers.

“By working side by side, all sectors of the community have contributed to the success of this project and it is now being utilised by community groups with an average of over 250 people a week.”

Alzheimers South Canterbury received a framed certificate, a trophy and $2000 prize money.

The group will go on to represent Timaru at the 2018 Trustpower National Community Awards when volunteers from 26 regions from around New Zealand gather in Tauranga next March.

Other winners at the awards were:

Youth Community Spirit finalists: Summer Anderson, Ben Hargreaves, Laura Seyb. Winner Ashburton, Rosie Smith; winner Timaru, Blake Steel; winner Waitaki, Georgia Vickers.

Trustpower Community Awards finalists: Hospice Mid Canterbury Trust, Mid Canterbury Youth Charitable Trust, Mt Hutt Ski Area & Methven Lions, House of Breakthrough Oamaru, Friends of Ashburton Hospital & Turangi Home, SeniorNet South Canterbury, Geraldine Ukulele, South Canterbury Roller Sports Club, Forest & Bird Waitaki branch, House of Breakthrough Oamaru, North Otago Riding for the Disabled, SeniorNet South Canterbury.

Trustpower Community Awards recipients: Age Concern Ashburton, Aoraki Migrant Centre, Special Olympics North Otago, Boost, Heart Kids South Canterbury, Lions Club of Ashburton, Vanished World, South Canterbury Indian Cultural Society, Waitaki Community Gardens, Lions Club of Ashburton County, Timaru Blind Foundation Community Committee, Waitaki Resource Recovery Trust.

Supreme winner Timaru, Alzheimers South Canterbury; Supreme winner Ashburton, Lauriston School Support; Supreme winner Waitaki, the Whalan Lodge Trust.Authentic Nike Sneakersチェスターコート メンズ コーデ特集!王道コートを使った注目の着こなしを&おすすめアイテムを紹介 , メンズファッションメディア