Game on . . . Timaru Girls' students and Yr 13 coaches Olivia Seyb (back left) and Laura Seyb (back right) were on hand to watch the TGHS Yr 10 girls' team (back, from left) Sally Houlahan, Sophie Gardyne, Ella Arnold, Amber Kennedy, Kimberly Williams, Jorja Miller and (front, from left) Ila Dorgan-Bower, Hannah Secoy, Maddison Secoy, Emilie Secoy win the girls' A-grade Aoraki junior basketball competition in Timaru last week. PHOTO: SUPPLIED

by Greta Yeoman

Junior high school basketball teams took part in the Aoraki junior competitions in Timaru and Ashburton on June 27 and 28.

The year 9 and 10 tournament started with the boys’ teams competing at Ashburton’s EA Networks Centre on the Wednesday, followed by the girls’ teams playing at Timaru’s Southern Trust Events Centre on Thursday.

Timaru Girls’ High School 10 team won the A grade girls’ event, while Waitaki Boys’ High School won the A grade boys’ event.

Roncalli College’s Mercy team placed second in the A grade girls’ competition followed by Ashburton College 3 in third. Second place in the boys’ A grade competition went to Roncalli College, while Ashburton College’s Blue team placed third.

Waitaki Boys’ placed first in the boys’ B-grade competition, followed by Mt Hutt College in second and Mountainview High School came third. The girls’ B-grade tournament was won by Mountainview, followed by Roncalli’s Marist team in second and Craighead 9 in third.Sports NewsAir Jordan Release Dates Calendar