by Greta Yeoman

New Zealand’s oldest ice hockey tournament will be hosted in Tekapo this weekend.

Eight teams from around the South Island are expected to compete in the three-day Erewhon Cup tournament, which will be held at the Tekapo Springs ice rink.

The Erewhon Cup ice hockey competition was first held at Opawa Station in the Mackenzie District in 1937.

The competition will begin at 5.30pm on Friday, and finish with the final at 11.45am on Sunday.

Teams competing include the Mackenzie Bull Tahr, Alexandra’s Flames, Gore’s ice hockey team, Tekapo Tavern Tahr, Wakatipu Goldrush, and three teams from Dunedin – the Moose, Spartans and Penguins.

Friday’s games will run from 5.45pm to 8pm, while Saturday’s matches will begin at 8am and finish at 7pm.

Sunday’s schedule will start at 8am and end with the final, which will begin at 11.45am.

The competition should be finished by 1pm on Sunday.Asics shoesNike air max