Back-to back wins in blue-riband race



Last year’s winners repeated their victories at the PrimePort ocean swim on Sunday morning.

Lynette Griffiths won the women’s 2.5km race in 34min 11sec while Riley Taylor claimed the men’s competition over the same distance in 28min 29sec.

A total of 73 swimmers started in the event, just over 40 in the blue-riband 2.5km event.

Organisers Rob Naylor said water conditions were good with only a small chop.

“A good number of spectators lined up on the beach to cheer the competitors out of the water and across the finish line.”

Timaru Courier reporter Chris Tobin went along and took these photographs.


Results from ocean swim.

500m:Female, S. Morgan 8:25, 1; A. Maynard 9:47, 2; A. de Wit, 10:38, 3. Male, L. Connolly 9:41, 1; N. Maddren 11:27, 2; O. Ball 12:32, 3.

1.5km:Female, N. Pannett 21:41, 1; J. Roadley 23:11, 2; K.Uys 24:37, 3. Male, M. Gray 19:47, 1; B. Arnold 21:43, 2; J. Young 21:48, 3.

2.5km: Female, L. Griffiths 34:11, 1; M. Wreford 35:8; K. Atkin 37:12, 3. Male, R.Taylor 28:29, 1; I. Dixon-Anderson 30:47, 2; S. Prescott 32:31, 3.Nike sneakersAir Jordan 1 Low GS Ice Cream Drip CW7104-601 Release Date Info